It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 7:49 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Winterization
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:46 am 

What winterization steps do you go thru for your Axis? I've winterized other inboards before, but this is my first year for my Axis and don't want to miss anything. Also, if there are any gotchas to be careful of, please let me know.

Most depressing time of the year...

Thanks

Post subject: Re: Winterization
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 1:30 pm 
Axis Owner

not quite ready to put ours away yet... but would be interested in hearing some thoughts out there.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:04 am 
Axis Owner

I am going to do mine next month sometime. This will be the first winterization for my Axis but I am going to follow the same steps as I did on my 2004 Wakesetter.

1. Fill Gas Tank add Fuel Stabilizer
2. Drain block then fill with antifreeze.
3. Fog Engine
4. Spray down engine mounts with CRC and other corrosive metals.
5. Remove Impeller and loosen main drive belt
6. Good Wash and Wax Job
7. Hook batteries up to trickle chargers.

I just had an oil change and the tranny fluid is good so I am not changing it now but usually I would do that also at this time.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:14 pm 

Don't forget to drain your heater core if you have a heater. Also if you have ballast bags make sure you drain them and leave a cap off. Just my two cents.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 12:22 pm 
Axis Owner

what if you keep the boat in a garage over winter that never gets below 40 deg.?
I live in Seattle and have always drained the block on my other boat, but wonder if really necessary if kept indoors over winter? my downtime is from Nov-Feb.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 2:43 pm 
Axis Owner